• Show in Front Page Modules: Yes

NOTE: SAFER was active during 2009-2012. We are making these materials available here, because many of them may still be of interest.

A Committee of Economists and other Experts for Stable, Accountable, Fair and Efficient Financial Reform (SAFER) is a focal point, clearinghouse and coordinating mechanism for progressive economists and analysts to gather and present their views on financial re-regulation and reform; to reach, to the degree possible, a consensus on the key issues relating to regulation and reform; and to help incorporate this work into the public debate over these issues that will ensue over the coming six  to nine months or so. By bringing these analysts together to speak in a concerted voice, we will be able to broaden the perspective on financial regulation and reform, and enhance our impact on this public debate. 

SAFER Coordinators

Gerald Epstein has published widely on a variety of progressive economic policy issues, especially in the areas of central banking and international finance, and is the editor or co-editor of six volumes, including Capital Flight and Capital Controls in Developing Countries (Edward Elgar Press 2004); Globalization and Progressive Economic Policy (with Dean Baker and Robert Pollin, Cambridge University Press 1998); Macroeconomic Policy After the Conservative Era: Studies in Investment, Saving and Finance (with Herbert Gintis, Cambridge University Press 1995); and Transforming the U.S. Financial System: An Equitable and Efficient Structure for the 21st Century (with Gary Dymski and Robert Pollin, M.E. Sharpe 1993). Professor Epstein's current work focuses on developing macroeconomic policies to promote just and sustainable improvements in living standards. He is also a long-time member of the Center for Popular Economics.

Jane D’Arista writes and lectures on economics and finance and is a Research Associate at the Political Economy Research Institute at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst and at the Economic Policy Institute. She served as a staff economist for the Banking and Commerce Committees of the U.S. House of Representatives, as a principal analyst in the international division of the Congressional Budget Office and has lectured in graduate programs at Boston University School of Law, the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, the University of Utah and the New School University. Her publications include a two-volume history of U.S. monetary policy and financial regulation.

SAFER Contributors and Participants

Eileen Appelbaum, Rutgers University and Center for Economic Policy Research
Michael Ash, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Dean Baker, Center for Economic Policy Research
William Black, University of Missouri, Kansas, Law School
Ron Blackwell, AFL-CIO
Jim Campen, Americans for Fairness in Lending
Douglas Cliggott, Dove Capital Management
James Crotty, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Jane D'Arista, Political Economy Research Institute (PERI)
Gary Dymski, University of California, Riverside
Gerald Epstein, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Korkut Erturk, University of Utah
Thomas Ferguson, University of Massachusetts, Boston
James Galbraith, University of Texas, Austin
Teresa Ghilarducci, New School for Social Research
Ilene Grabel, University of Denver
William Greider, Author
Stephany Griffith-Jones, Columbia University
Sanjiv Gupta, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Robert Guttmann, Hofstra University
Arjun Jayadev, University of Massachusetts, Boston
Robert Johnson, Roosevelt Institute and Americans for Financial Reform
Kathleen Keest, Center for Responsible Lending
Michael Konczal, Roosevelt Institute
Robert Kuttner, editor, The American Prospect
James Kwak, The Baseline Scenario
Jeff Madrick, editor Challenge Magazine and New School for Social Research
Michael Meeropol, College of Western New England
Perry Mehrling, Barnard College
Fred Moseley, Mt. Hoyloke College
Jose Antonio Ocampo, Columbia University
Thomas Palley, New America Foundation
Dimitri Papadimitriou, Levy Institute and Bard College
Rob Parenteau, Financial Analyst
Robert Pollin, University of Massachusetts, Amherst (Economics and PERI)
Chris Rude, Economist
Tom Schlesinger, Financial Markets Center
Jennifer Taub, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Robert Weissman, Essential Information
Christian Weller, University of Massachusetts, Boston
Marty Wolfson, University of Notre Dame


umass logo

This is an official web page
of the University of Massachusetts.

Political Economy Research Institute

Gordon Hall, 418 N. Pleasant St., Suite A

Amherst, MA 01002
Tel: 413-545-6355 Fax: 413-577-0261